Jōchi Temple
Tokyo
Jufuku-ji in the Ogigayatsu district of Kamakura is a Rinzai Zen temple under the Kencho-ji branch. It was founded in 1200 by Hojo Masako, widow of the shogun Minamoto no Yoritomo, in his memory; its first abbot was Eisai, the monk who brought Rinzai Zen from China to Japan. In the medieval Gozan system of Kamakura's five great Zen temples, Jufuku-ji held the third rank. The inner halls are closed to visitors, but the cedar-lined path to the Sanmon gate is among the most atmospheric temple approaches in Kamakura. Behind the precincts lie the yagura rock-cut tombs of Hojo Masako and her son Sanetomo.
Sign in to rate this place.
Sign inTokyo
Tokyo
Tokyo
Tokyo
Tokyo
Tokyo

Tokyo
Tokyo

Tokyo
Tokyo
Tokyo
Tokyo
Tokyo
Tokyo
Tokyo
Tokyo
Tokyo
Tokyo
Tokyo
Tokyo
Tokyo
Tokyo
Tokyo
Tokyo
Tokyo
Tokyo
Tokyo
Tokyo
Tokyo
Tokyo
Tokyo
Tokyo
Tokyo
Tokyo
Tokyo
Tokyo
Tokyo